Because the Era’s Tour deserves its own post

Last night, I took my woman child to see her 3rd Taylor Swift concert. To say the concert was incredible is an understatement, but the memories! The last one we went to she was about 11. The one before that she was about 8.

When she went at 8 years old, it was probably Taylor’s first tour. Back then, she would come out into the crowd and hold people’s hand and sing her songs, which she did with my daughter. My child came home with a memory.

The second concert, a few years later. My daughter talked all the way to Texas. That’s not unusual. She kept telling me she was going to get Taylor’s autograph. I tried to explain to her that the concert was huge and the chances were slim but she was adamant so off we went. We went to the merch line to buy a CD, and the lady says “here she can get the last signed copy that I have left.”

I learned then to just roll with it when it came to her. Last night was very different. Standing there with what was once a little girl, now a grown woman. I watched her more than the concert. She smiled, danced, sang, and recorded her best friend who had started crying. All I could do was just be present, be grateful, and just be. Were the tickets and the trip expensive? Yes. Was it an entire weekend geared around a concert? Yes.

The point is to take the trip. Spend the money, take the trip, and make the memories. I’m always looking at ways to save more money when I should be looking at ways to take more trips. Because the memories are priceless.

I hope one day we get to see Taylor again because at this point, it is something we have done our whole lives. I have to keep in mind that my daughter is getting ready to start living her own life in a few years, and time is all we have left.

Leave a comment